How I Spent My Summer Vacation…

Ahhhhhh……

That’s my response after two weeks of vacation. I was definitely ready for some time away from my job to decompress, relax and reintroduce myself to my family. Pastors are faithful in talking about Sabbath but aren’t always the best practitioners. These past two weeks were a wonderful Sabbath for me.

Initially the family and I were going to travel to Chicago to visit our old stomping grounds. My wife Leigh had some former clients in that area that were asking her to come back and do more photo sessions and she felt there was enough demand to warrant the trip. While she worked, the girls and I were planning on visiting friends we made during our time there. But after five days in a hotel in Nashville for General Assembly, we weren’t sure that our youngest daughter was ready for an eight-hour car ride and five more days in a hotel.

So we decided that Molly and I would stay home while Leigh and Sydney would make the trip to Chicago. That ended up being a great choice all the way around. Leigh and Syd got some great bonding time during the car ride. Syd got to spend lots of time with her friends up there while Leigh worked. And Molly and I got lots of uninterrupted time together, which doesn’t happen often. We played laser tag, when shopping and out to eat, took in a Legends game (with fireworks!) and curled up in my recliner to watch movies. It was truly a blessing to get that time with my youngest, who is getting less young every day!

Once Leigh and Syd returned from a successful trip, I spent a lot of time helping out around the house, keeping the girls occupied and just, as the kids say, “chillin’”. I saw the last Harry Potter movie and caught up on some of my Netflix DVDs. I finished all the Sunday crossword puzzles that I had been saving. And I read a bunch of books, including:

  • How to Think Theologically by Howard Stone and James Duke
  • One New Man by Jarvis Williams
  • Parables from the Back Side by J. Ellsworth Kalas
  • Jack’s Life, a Biography of C.S. Lewis by  Doug Gresham

But before you think all my reading was for work, I also was able to curl up with:

  • To the Nines by Janet Evanovich
  • Blow Fly by Patricia Cornwell
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey

And now, after two weeks of not wearing any long pants or dress shoes and letting my beard grow, it’s time to shave, stop dressing like a beach bum and get back to work! I can honestly say I’m ready. As much as I enjoyed my time off, I missed you! We have a lot of exciting things going on here at Crestwood and I want to keep the momentum going. We have a Minister of Growth candidate coming in a few weeks and hopefully will have a Minister of Youth candidate visiting not long after that. We have exciting changes happening with our Children’s Ministry and Youth Groups. We are continuing to see new faces each and every Sunday.

I’m thankful for my time away and for the leadership of Colette and others while I was gone. I’m rested and refreshed. God has big plans for us, Crestwood! I’m expecting God to do something amazing with us. Are you ready? Then let’s go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

