Installing a Minister and Instilling Hope

One of the things that drew me to Crestwood was the longevity of their senior ministers. When I heard that you had only three senior ministers in your first fifty years, I knew that this was a healthy congregation that valued ministry and supported those who served them. I also knew it was the kind of church I wanted to serve. So I am honored to be installed this coming Sunday as your fourth senior minister.

I’m also honored to have as the guest preacher the former senior minister from my home church in Jeffersonville, Ind. Rev. Bruce Barkhauer is one of the major reasons I am in ministry. I consider him one of my mentors and his family as some of our closest friends. Bruce has just left the Jeffersonville church to take the position of Minister of Faith and Giving for the denomination. We will be blessed by Bruce’s presence.

But this Sunday is not about Bruce or me. It’s about God and how God has called all of us together to serve. To that end, I want to make Sunday a community celebration that lifts up God’s work through our congregation. We’ve invited a number of community groups who use our facilities to be part of the worship service. We hope to have a big crowd to help us mark this joyful occasion.

Also, we have the opportunity Sunday to live out one of the core values of Crestwood: outreach and compassion for others. We will be collecting items for Hygiene Kits to be sent to Haiti (see related article for specific items). The “cost” of admission for Sunday is at least one of these items. We’ll be collecting them at the entrances to the sanctuary on Sunday then putting them together Monday night. We hope you’ll contribute as we do our part to help our Haitian brothers and sisters. I know the congregation’s response to this request will reaffirm for me that Crestwood is truly a special place.

I hope you will join with the rest of your church family on Sunday as we mark the beginning of this new chapter in the life of Crestwood. As I said this past Sunday, I can’t wait to see what God has planned for us!

HAITI RELIEF KITS

This Sunday we’ll be collecting items for Hygiene Kits to be sent through Church World Service to Haiti to aid in the relief efforts. When you come to worship on Sunday, please bring one or more of the following:

• One hand towel measuring approximately 16″ x 28″ (no fingertip or bath towels)
• One washcloth
• One wide-tooth comb
• One nail clipper (no metal files or emery boards)
• One bar of soap (bath size in wrapper)
• One toothbrush (in original packaging)
• Six Band-Aids®
• One-gallon plastic bag with zipper closures

We’ll be gathering in Chalice Hall on Monday at 6:30 p.m. to assemble the kits. If you are available, we’d love to have your help!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Installing a Minister and Instilling Hope

  1. Gale

    It really sounds like you are where you need to be. I’m so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

