Getting Through It

Luke 13:31-35 – At that time some Pharisees came to Jesus and said to him, “Leave this place and go somewhere else. Herod wants to kill you.” He replied, “Go tell that fox, ‘I will drive out demons and heal people today and tomorrow, and on the third day I will reach my goal.’ In any case, I must keep going today and tomorrow and the next day—for surely no prophet can die outside Jerusalem!

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing! Look, your house is left to you desolate. I tell you, you will not see me again until you say, ‘Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.’

Poet Robert Frost once wrote, “The best way out is always through.” Perseverance was a hallmark of Jesus’ ministry. In the face of evil, in the face of challenges, in the face of human stubbornness, he pressed on. It’s a theme Paul picks up in his writings, the idea of running the race to reach the goal set before him. Although Jesus knew of the perils of staying in
Jerusalem, he did not let that deter him: “I must keep going today and tomorrow and the next day (NIV).” When the going got tough, Jesus didn’t get out, but to get through. He persevered and stood up to all that awaited him, knowing that he would reach his goal. His steadfast perseverance is an example to us. As we face the trials and tribulations of life, as we come up against our own Pharisees and High Priests, we already know the best way through, because our Savior has already walked the path. No obstacle is so tall that our Lord can’t conquer it through us. And we know what awaits us on the other side. As we keep going today, and tomorrow, and the next day, we keep in front of us the divine goal of a life lived in the presence and praise of Jesus Christ. With Christ as our guide, we will make it out by making it through.

Holy God, You know the walls I have to climb in my life just to keep on keepin’ on. Illuminate my path with Your love so that I can run the race set before me, knowing that You not only run beside me but await me at the finish line. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotions

Leave a Reply

