Why Are You A Minister?

I had an interesting experience at a lock-in a few years ago. As tends to happen at lock-ins, after the 16 large pizzas have been inhaled and the requisite games of Hide and Seek have been played, the energy level winds down and people begin to settle in for the night. It’s at those times that some of the most memorable conversations take place.

At this particular lock-in, at at 1 a.m., I was sitting with two of the youth, when one of them asked me, “Why are you a minister?”

Wow! What a great question for a young person to ask. In my mind I got excited about the chance to share my story with her. But then I found myself struggling to put words to my thoughts. “Gosh, there are so many reasons,” I said. I could talk for hours about why I’m a minister and what I love about it, but it was already past my bedtime.

“Well, what’s the biggest reason?” she countered.

Hmm. The biggest reason I’m a minister…How does someone answer that? How would YOU answer that? If a youth outside our church, maybe a neighbor or a relative, asked you, “What’s the biggest reason you are a Christian?” how would you answer? The Bible tells us we should be ready for this question. “Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have” (1 Peter 3:15).

You never know when you’re going to have a chance to share your faith with someone. You never know when someone seeking an answer will look to you. It could happen at any time, even at 1 a.m. in the morning. “Why do you believe? Why have you given your life to serve Christ? Why are you a Christian?” Thanks to the youth’s question, I have my answer. Do you have yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under Church/spirituality

Leave a Reply

